Need a simple stout recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Happydad1689

Reaction score
I am relatively new to brewing and I have been hammering away at perfecting one APA recipe and I got it and love it....

I want to get a good stout preferably with Fuggles as I like their taste. I see many recipes that are very involved, I prefer something simple till I get the hang of the style.

Anybody want to share a recipe?

Edit: I would like to have it creamy (guinness like), not sure what causes the mouthfeel etc (aside from nitrogen)

+1 to Yoopers Oatmeal Stout.
a simple stout recipe is:

7 lbs of maris otter or 2-row
2lbs flaked barley
1 lb roasted barley
English hops, 40 - 50 IBU's all added at 60 minutes

2lbs flaked barley
1 lb roasted barley

Then you can start tweaking the recipe to your taste.

I want to get a good stout preferably with Fuggles as I like their taste. I see many recipes that are very involved, I prefer something simple till I get the hang of the style.

Anybody want to share a recipe?

Edit: I would like to have it creamy (guinness like), not sure what causes the mouthfeel etc (aside from nitrogen)

Although Yooper's is quite good, with eight grains it is probably not as simple as you want.

I think Biermuncher's "Ode to Arthur" would be a tested recipe similar to what how1 suggests if you don't want to formulate one on your own just yet.

I'm sure substituting Fuggles would not be an issue, also read post #3 where he discusses possibly changing the grain percentages for a little less roastiness.

Recipe HERE