Naturally coloring ginger ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petemc

Reaction score
I'm new to ginger ale brewing (not sure why, it's without question the best liquid substance on earth), as well as this forum. I've sifted through countless threads to help me get started with ginger ale brewing, and it's been a huge help, so before I go any further: thank you, everyone.

Recently, I've been experimenting with brewing small batches of lacto-fermented ginger ale. I have a really spicy brew that I'd like to try to turn red. The trouble is finding a natural ingredient I could add at some point to give the ale a red tint (purely for aesthetic purposes). I've checked everywhere I can think of to find an alternative to red food coloring, but most websites only suggest using beet juice.. so, unfortunately, i'm going forward and experimenting with adding beet juice to a small batch of ginger ale, which, honestly sounds disgusting and will probably ruin the whole batch. Either that, or it will be the most magical beverage ever consumed.

Since I'm using such natural methods to brew my ginger ale, i fear that adding some non-organic ingredient, like store bought food coloring, might alter or even destroy the integrity of the brew. Not only that, but taking so much time to make a completely natural beer, and then adding anything non-organic just seems a bit silly to me. Before I go crazy experimenting with cherries and every red fruit and berry in existence -- has anyone had experience with this? Perhaps you know of a good natural ingredient that complements the brew AND turns it red? i'll really be crossing my fingers for that perfect ingredient, but any information in general would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

Pete