My gas was gone in about 2 days

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mparmer

Reaction score
I hooked up my new tanks and noticed the guage that shows how much gas you have showed barely over the red "order new gas" zone. Did I get a tank that was not full? I'm new at this and didn't hear a leak but maybe there was one. The kegs came with a new oring kit but also came pressurized so I didn't think they should need the new orings. I cleaned sanitized and filled both with beer and now I"m not totally sure what I should do. Can I open everything up and replace all those orings at this point or am I screwed? I don't want to spend another $8 on a tank if it's just gonna leak out in 2 or 3 days. Thanks.

Break it down: have you checked to confirm the tank is empty and not a broken gauge?

Is your c02 tank inside your kegerator?

What did your regulator say before you pressurized the keg? Did you start with a full tank? If you have a leak the gas can go really fast. I learned that the hard way.

Fill your keg and use some soapy water around the mouth and poppets to see if your keg's leaking.

Did you put the CO2 tank in the fridge? The cold temp will cause a drop in pressure in the cylinder to just about the red zone.

If not, fill a spray bottle with Star-san or soapy water and start spritzing all of your connections, posts and keg lids to see what's leaking.

-Joe

Hi side gauge is almost useless and reads if you have CO2 or if you don't...not much in between.

Pull you vent and see if you have CO2.

If you are really out, you have a leak...been there, done that = sucks!