My first game plan as a newbie and some questions!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

electrotype

Reaction score
Hi!

I'm new to HomeBrewTalk and also new to the world of homebrewing. I bought almost all the equipment I need for my first brewing and I plan on doing it next weekend or so.

I start all-grain (I built my mash tun, yeah!) and with a recipe maybe more complex than what I should as a beginner! :ban: I may fail it, but I prefere to try to brew a beer I'll like from the start (I'm a big IPA/DIPA and fruity hops fan).

I'm going to try to brew this Pliny the Step Child (Pliny the Elder clone) which has some good reviews! I ordered all the hops I need and I'm going to buy the grains this week.

I'll probably going to use the BeerSmith software to keep track of what I'm doing, even if I find it a little bit confusing (there are a lot of parameters I don't even know what there are for).

Based on this thread, I'll probably going to stick with the primary fermenter though (a standard Ale Pail bucket), no secondary fermenter for now.

1. My first question is about dry hopping. I do not have any CO2 system to help purge oxygen from the fermenter. So, what are the recommended ways to put the hops inside the fermenter for dry hopping? They are pellets hops and I have mesh bags. Should I remove the lid from the fermenter to drop the bags or it is recommended to drop them through the top hole, by removing the air lock? I guess removing the lid is not the best way to do it since it would allow more oxygen to enter the fermenter, right?

2. The hops bags, should they be pushed to the bottom of the fermenter or is it ok to drop them and don't care, even if they float? Should I attach some weight to them so they sink to the bottom of the bucket?