My backyard hop situation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Senormac

Reaction score
I'm getting really excited about the upcoming hop season. This will be the third year for my Centennial, Chinook and Fuggles and the 6th year for my East Kent Golding. Time to weed out the beds.

hop%20bed%202017a_zpsawy6p1qn.jpg

I'm in my third year too. My cascade did pretty well last year, still have yet to get a cone on my goldings. Had two feet of snow a couple weeks ago, today was 70 degrees! I know that kind of weather won't last but its got me looking forward to season three.

Excellent Leezer !! My EKG were slow too, but once they got going ....WOW !! I've had some phenomenal crops.

Here is a shot from last year early on in the season. The wood pillars are 13 feet high. I ran some rope across the top and then twined up from each plant to the top. The thing is, the weight pulled the rope downward as the weight increased. I'm going to have to put some thought into that this year.

IMG_20160417_142434513_zpsmxppfors.jpg

The third one down is my EKG. They love the spot and get full sun all day, at least while the sun is shining. Here in Oregon it can be sunny one day and rainy and cloudy the next. I'll dig up some old pictures and give a little back story on how this ended up in the middle of the yard

IMG_20160417_142239231_zpss7odwnfh.jpg

Thanks for posting the pictures, always nice to see other setup ideas. I'm not completely satisfied with my hops growing setup. I have them in my vegetable garden area and have tried using tall obelisk type structures which worked out okay. I kind of wish I had planted them in a different spot but hate to move and disturb them now. But, I'm rethinking how I have my whole garden area so we'll see.