My Apologies to all BIABers

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey folks,
Background- I have been brewing now for 4 years, the last 2.5 AG using a 5G Dennystyle round cooler mashtun with a braid. Very happy with it and usually get mash efficiencies between 75-80%. However, with grain bills above 12 lbs, I run into volume issues. So last year I decided to go with a modified BIAB for large bills using 2 BIAB bags in a rectangular cooler.
My efficiencies using this system have been down around 65%, which I blamed on the BIAB. Here's my mea culpa.....
Last week I did NB's Waldo Lake Amber with a 14.5 lb grain bill, using my 'large bill system'. Mash efficiency was 66%. Today I did a Bock with 13.5lb grain bill. Decided to use my regular mashtun. Despite doing a decoction and mashing for a total of 78 minutes, my efficiency was only 53%. I've been blaming the BIAB for low efficiency, when I now realize it's more likely a large grain bill and a sub-optimal crush.

So, Brew on my BIAB brothers. I will never think or say anything bad about your method ever again. :mug:

Much appreciated, my man :mug: Squeeze those bad boys and see if you can't get your efficiency up ;) Sparging is life

Apology accepted! For BIAB crush really fine. I have my mill set to .025 and works wonders.

My guess is it's hard to get a good "mix" with really large amounts of grain in a bag. But I could be wrong too. LOL If you are "bagging" it grind your grain into flour.

I keep butting heads with people on this, but there is an efficiency curve which BIAB bumps up against as it hits 1.060. You seem to prove it to me.

I keep butting heads with people on this, but there is an efficiency curve which BIAB bumps up against as it hits 1.060. You seem to prove it to me.