Munich malt FG??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thaefathan

Reaction score
I just made a pale ale, all northern brewer hops, 50/50 two row and munich with S-04 yeast slurry. The hydrometer is about 1.019 in the beer, but then I filled up the cylinder with water, and that was at about 1.004. (Beer and the water are both about 60F, which is what the hydrometer is calibrated for... supposedly)

Could I just call the FG 1.015? Does munich malt ferment dry? I've never used it before.

The other thought is that I didn't have enough O2, didn't make a starter, and probably didn't pitch enough slurry, I pitched about 4oz.

The OG was measured at 1.058, fyi.

Annnnd, the reason for making this was to see if the hops had gone bad. I've never used NB hops before though, so what should I look for to tell if they went bad or not? They smell nice

Thanks guys.

THe yeast is what controls wether or not it ferments dry and your yeast will not do that ! You might of under pitched on the yeast but you should be fine if you can control the temps while fermenting the first 5 days. I would try to have 66 to 68 if it is possible. WHy did you fill the cylinder with water, it just destroys any decision making value. Let it ferment for 2 weeks and then see what you have for gravity and then check it 2 days later as it should be the final gravity if the 2 checks are the same. if the hops smell good you have no worries there.:mug:

This is all off the top of my head, take it for what it is worth.

I think typical styles that use a lot of munich malt do finish a bit high, but I think that is usually because they have a high OG. Something that started at 1.058 should finish a bit lower than 1.019. It should even be a bit lower than 1.015.