Mini cooler/fridge in fermentation chamber ?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kingtj

Reaction score
Hi,

I don't have space for a fermentation FRIDGE.
So has anyone ever tried one of those mini cooler/fridge. Like this
Robot Check

Would it work if used in a fermentation chamber made from polystyrene insulation ?

I'm completely new to brewing and haven't got around to building myself a temp-controlled chamber yet, but figured I'd give my thoughts:

It seems to me that the benefit of a fermentation fridge is that your bucket or carboy can fit inside it. You can build an extension chamber out from the fridge, but ultimately I don't see why you can't just use a fridge on its own. The mini fridge wouldn't be able to fit much inside of it, so you would presumably have to account for the size of the fridge plus any bucket you planned to use.

So far as whether it would work, I don't see any reason why not. So long as the chamber you build is suitably insulated, the internal temperatures would stay chilled by the fridge. You might find the fridge struggles to drop the temperature as quickly as you would like in response to doors opening or closing or different temperature ferments being put in the chamber, but ultimately the temperature would probably stay fairly stable so long as you're careful in how you use it.

I saw links recently to a Son of a Fermentation Chamber which seems like it might meet your needs. It's quite involved in terms of the build process, but if you're planning on modifying a fridge anyway, the SoF Chamber is probably within your skill set.

Hope that helps!