Mead recipe formulation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Double_D

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Is there a general rule of thumb for this sort of thing? I'm just getting into mead for SWMBO after many years of brewing and don't know where to start exactly. I have something I took a shot at that's got 12# orange blossom honey and 2# of dried strawberries.

What I did was warm up 5 gal of water then dissolve the honey in it. I added the dried fruit to the primary (will add to secondary next time I guess) and then let it ferment out. But I know I started with more than 5 gallons because of the displacement of the honey. What do you guys do? Just mark the carboy and top it off?

Is there a "Complete Joy of Homebrewing" or " How to brew" for mead? Just trying to get going in the right direction.

What do you do about the alcohol tolerance of the yeast? Vary the amount of honey based on the desired sweetness of the finished product? I've used D-47 and I really like what I've got but don't know what to do for the next one.

Compleat Meadmaker by Ken Schramm is the How to Brew of mead.

No real rules for mead. Many will say ~3lbs of honey per gallon of must. Some primary fruit, some secondary, some both.

Experiment and have fun!

Thank you sir! I guess one other question is if there is a beginning and final gravity for the different styles/sweetnesses? What is the difference between and dry/demi-sec and a sweet? How do you plan for that?

Beginning gravity doesn't really affect sweetness, except in choice of yeast--some yeast can chow down on all the sugars, some won't get it all and then you end up with more sweetness than you planned.