Mason jars for my Cider?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Scruffy1207

Reaction score
I was wondering if I could put my hard cider in mason jars? I haven't heard of this before so I don't know if it's ok.

Seems like an interesting idea especially if you wanted to back sweeten however you sacrifice any ability to carbonate

I was thinking you would be "canning" and thus would be applying sufficient heat to kill any residual/suspended yeast

step said:
I was thinking you would be "canning" and thus would be applying sufficient heat to kill any residual/suspended yeast

Why canning? I'm new to this whole cider business.

Sorry. it was just where my mind jumped when I read "mason jars." Again, I think this might be great for backsweeting, but come to think of it you might vaporize some alcohol by canning.

Come on cider experts chime in on this, I am just spouting bull**** here and would like to hear, rather, read some experienced responses.

step said:
Sorry. it was just where my mind jumped when I read "mason jars." Again, I think this might be great for backsweeting, but come to think of it you might vaporize some alcohol by canning.

Come on cider experts chime in on this, I am just spouting bull**** here and would like to hear, rather, read some experienced responses.

Lol. Like I said all this is new to me. Backsweetening is when you add sugars or things of that nature after fermentation to give it flavor?

What about just heating the jars up before the cider is poured in. If they were freshly taken out of the dishwasher or heated up some other way they may be hot enough to seal the jar up without killing the beasties. I don't know what would happen when the pressure changed from jar conditioning after though. Let us know what happens.