Mashing 101

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Axel

Reaction score
Greetings,
My English is really bad. I am a newbie in homebrewing, and I have several brewing questions to be solved. One of them is about mashing. I have brewed 3 batches so far using a 10 gal Rubbermaid cooler as the mash tun. My mashing method, which I have figured out by overlapping various sources of knowledge, has been as follows:
1) heating a previously calculated amount of strike water at a given temp ,
2) pouring it on the mash tun
3) pouring the grist and stir thoroughly, (check temp around 65ºC)
4) waiting 60 minutes or until starch is converted into sugar
5) vorlauf,
6) collecting that first amount of wort
7) pouring sparge water and stir again (check temp around 74ºC)
8) waiting for 15 minutes
9) vorlauf
10) collecting that second amount of wort
11) Send both amounts of wort to boil

So far I have been able to brew some drinkable beer. However, it is still far from being outstanding. I am wondering one of my mistakes is to drain that first amount of wort. My common sense is telling me now that I shouldn't do that because it will take away most of the sugars and enzymes needed for next stage of mashing. Should I leave it on the mash tun and add the sparge water, check the temp and wait ? Any comments and pieces of advice are very welcome.
Thanks in advance and best regards.
Axel

Well your English is totally fine. :)

Your mash temp is kind of low depending upon style. It will vary between styles. A lighter body beer will have the mash temp you're using. It would be helpful to know if you use that for all beers you've brewed and what beers you've brewed.