Mash

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nathan33

Reaction score
I am pretty new to all grain brewing. I am teying to find the best method for me. I use a 10 gallon igloo cooler and batch sparging is probably the way I should go. I have two questions. First. Beersmith tells me the strike water to add and then has 2 sparges after that. Can I just combine these and do one batch sparge? This seems more logical to me instead of the 1-2 gallon and then another 3-4 gallon sparge. Also. Using this method, how do I adjust for a peotein rest. I have 2 kettles and the cooler. But can't heat the mash tun. Do I add all the strike water at pr temp then drain and heat. Reallh confused on how to do this and get water amounts correct and hit temps

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Home Brew mobile app

often batch sparging goes hand-in-hand with single infusion mashing (no protein rest). however, you can do them. in the mash profiles, set a rest temperature in beer smith at 125 (or whatever temp for a protein rest) and then set your sach rest temperature at 152 (or whatever). beersmith should tell you how much water and at what temperature you need to add to bring the mash up to your desired temp. so no, you don't drain the mash tun. you just add boiling (or very hot) water at the appropriate volume determined by beer smith. i would suggest some experimentation to determine if a protein rest is even worth doing.

now, on the sparge water. the default mash profiles in beersmith typically have you adding the first sparge water at the end of the mash before you drain the tun. so you add an additional 1-2 gallons (generally whatever it takes to fill the tun up to 90%) and then drain, then you add another 4 gallons or so of sparge water and drain that.