Mash PH and water profile question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Markdark60

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to all grain and have been trying to use Brewers Friend water calculator. I know I probably shouldn't be messing with my water at this point but please humor me. The main reason I am even messing with it is because my hoppy beers have all been kind of bland in the flavor department and I think it might have to do with my PH and relatively low mineral water that is higher in chloride than sulfates. I hear people talk about hops "poping" from the additon of salts like gypsum and think I may benefit from this. The first all grain beer I made was a stout with irish yeast and irish whiskey soaked french oak chips that came out amazing. The second beer I made was a single hop IPA that did not come out so great which may in part be due to a more than necessary complex malt bill and only adding hops for a hop stand and a small portion for bittering at 60. Either way all the IPA's I have made have been lacking in that clean in your face flavor aspect I enjoy in commercial IPA's.

My first question is real basic and I just want to double check that a carbon filter sink attachment doesn't filter out minerals just chlorine, is that correct?