Maris/Nelson SMaSH

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ilan34

Reaction score
(I posted this in the recipe section, but got no responses - apologies for the repost!)

I'm brewing this combination this weekend for competition. I've never used Nelson before. I'm shooting for something balanced, leaning towards the hoppier side. Right now, it looks like an APA: 1.057 OG and 50 IBU. I plan on mashing at 154.

The thing is, I'm second guessing myself at my choice of malt. Would Pilsner be a better match? The category isn't by BJCP style - it's specifically for a SMaSH beer.

Incidentally, I'll be using WLP001 for a neutral yeast contribution.

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Home Brew mobile app

IMO id go with the Maris with this hop. Nelson is a very in your face hop. I'd want to use a malt with a little more backbone to balance the awesomeness of the Nelson.

Let us know how this beer turns out!

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Maris otter is great for a SMaSH beer. gives some great flavors.
Pilsen malt will be a bit less malty and kinda, blah. if that makes sense? i'd say stick with maris otter if you want some malt body, go with pilsen if you want a slightly more hop punch.

I did do a 2row/nelson *almost* smash a few months ago (added in some honey malt), i fermented too hot on S-04 :( so the flavor was off, but i know if i fermented it correctly :) the beer would have been fantastic! good luck! and hopefully that helped a bit

Just curious, what would your hop additions be?

Unfortunately, I don't have my recipe with me at work, but here's an approximation:

60 min: 14 IBU
10 min: 18 IBU
Flameout with 45 minute hopstand: 1.1 oz
Dry hop: 1.2 oz