Making your own labels, any advice?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aleforge

Reaction score
I want to make up some labels for my next batch it's something that I have never done before. I remember reading something in the past about sticking some on with a soapy solution (my memory is bad) so that they were easy to get off. I am currently looking around for something to use.

Any suggestions?

I use milk. Print your labels on the paper of your choice, cut them out, put some milk on a small plate (just a little bit). I then place about half of the label just on top of the milk, an edge will curl up. Grab that edge and gently drag the rest of the label over the top of the milk to cover the back side of it. Then place the label on the bottle and wipe the excess milk off with a paper towel. I start in the middle and wipe out towards the edges.

The milk will dry and the lactose in the milk acts as a glue. Just get the label wet and they'll come right off. The only down side to this method is you can't place the bottles in a cooler of water/ice as the labels will come off, but it works great for the fridge.

I am thinking about getting some labels made, too. I figure that I'd like reusable ones that work with recipes that I make frequently. I make milk/oatmeal stouts, a rhubarb saision, and munich malt heavy lagers, so I think I'd get the most use out of labels that work with those. Now I just need to find someone artistic to make some designs.