Lets talk about effiency..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GearDaddys

Reaction score
Question about all of the talk in various threads regarding "efficiency"..

FWIW.. I'm still new to BIAB, as well as to BeerSmith. I have spent countless hours in the software, and think that I have a good grasp of the concepts behind "Mash efficiency" vs "Brewhouse Efficiency", as well as how they correlate with each other..

I have been noticing that in many threads on here, guys are referencing their efficiency values.. Are you generally speaking of mash efficiency, or your overall brewhouse efficiency?

Thanks! (Trying to soak as much of this up as I can!)

Whoops, usually I mean mash efficiency, guess I need to get on board.

Edit: because I feel like there are a lot of different variables on brew house eff. How much trub your grain bill gives, how much you leave in the kettle, how much you lose to chillers, how well your yeast compacts, etc...

With BIAB your main mash efficiency will always vary depending on your target OG. Bigger beers will be less efficient where you can get as good as 80 percent efficiency with a small .1045 beer for example. Expect 60-70 percent on .1060+ beers ballpark.