Legally Starting a Distillery

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

JPStinky

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

I've been making beer for about 6 years and I suddenly became very fascinated with the idea of distilling. As it has been made very clear in other posts, distilling at home is illegal. How then do law abiding citizens start a distillery? Am I really expected to fork out $100k in taxes, licenses, real estate, and equipment just to see if this might be something I enjoy? Or if my recipe is even any good?

Or does the government just assume that I have done this at home for a while and turn a blind eye?

Seriously, how do you apply for a loan with a business plan? "Well, this is the equipment that I need, and this is the cost of the location. I've never done this before, because its illegal. Please loan me a load of money."

Hi Everyone!

I've been making beer for about 6 years and I suddenly became very fascinated with the idea of distilling. As it has been made very clear in other posts, distilling at home is illegal. How then do law abiding citizens start a distillery? Am I really expected to fork out $100k in taxes, licenses, real estate, and equipment just to see if this might be something I enjoy? Or if my recipe is even any good?

Or does the government just assume that I have done this at home for a while and turn a blind eye?

Seriously, how do you apply for a loan with a business plan? "Well, this is the equipment that I need, and this is the cost of the location. I've never done this before, because its illegal. Please loan me a load of money."