Left out some extract but got the right OG for my recipe, do I need to do anything?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

taulpepper

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a newbie making my second batch. I realized at the end, after pitching the yeast and sealing the bucket, that I had forgotten to add a pound of DME. I already have the right amount of wort in there (5.5 gal), so I'm wondering if I need to add the DME or if I'm ok?

I think I'm ok - here's why. I measured the gravity with my hydrometer and it read 1.060. It was 75.4°F, so I think you add 0.0018 delta G giving me 1.0618 OG.

I had to make several adjustments to the recipe I used, but it stated the OG should be 1.060. 1.0618 is pretty close, so I think I'm good and if I added anymore DME it would be too high.

Here's the full details of what I did. I'm basing it off of the Raison D'Saison recipe from Brewing Classic Styles, but I had to make several adjustments.

The recipe includes

7.7 lbs Pilsner LME
1 lb cane sugar
.75 lb Wheat LME
.5 lb Munich LME
2oz CaraMunich steeping grains

I couldn't get those small quantities of LME at my local HBS, so I bought the following grains and did a partial mash with a grain bag on the stove:

1lb Wheat Malt
.75 lb Munich malt
2 oz CaraMunich

I asked the guy at the HBS how much grain to get and he recommended these amounts. I didn't do all the gravity calculations to figure out exactly how much I'd need of each to match the LME quantities. (I tried to do it before I went to the shop but couldn't get it to work out right).