Lazy man swamp cooler

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Meatyboy

Reaction score
'm not really lazy. Well, I am, but I'm a truck driver out for a week or two at a time between days off. Does anyone have any ideas for long term extremely low maintenance swamp coolers or am I gonna have to bite the bullet and hunt down a cheap fridge on my day off?

How "cold" are you looking to make things? Above/around 62 F or lower than this? I use a plastic tote that I fill with water halfway and then place my brew buckets into this with ice packs or frozen water bottles in the water. I then drape a few old water soaked towels over the buckets and leave the towels partially in the water. Doing this in my 67 F basement has kept the fermenation temps around 62 F for a week. I thought I might have top switch out the frozen water bottles but things stayed pretty static.

My 'brew room' is a spare bedroom in the back of the house, it stays around 71-73 degrees in there. I'm looking for mid 60's 66-68 and I'd be happy just to cut down on the ester's taste a bit. It doesn't really hurt my beer, just takes longer to age and condition to get off tastes out.

I have been told that the temperature of the first several days of fermenation can be 3-4 degrees above the surroundings temp. Thus, if you have a swamp cooler at 62-63 then your primary fermentation temp would be around 67 F which is close to your goal. I have checked to see if this was true on my last batch and the fermentation temp was around 66 F when the cooler water temp was 62 F.