Lager substitute???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

capt82

Reaction score
I'm new to all grain brewing. I've done a couple IPA's now and looking for a new brew. I'm looking to do a lager "like" beer but I don't have a chiller to ferment in yet.

Any thoughts on beer type or recipe I could make that resembles a lager without having to lager?

I'm new to all grain brewing. I've done a couple IPA's now and looking for a new brew. I'm looking to do a lager "like" beer but I don't have a chiller to ferment in yet.

Any thoughts on beer type or recipe I could make that resembles a lager without having to lager?

The yeast and the fermentation temperature profile are the biggest factors to consider to get what you are seeking.

Can you control a ferment in the mid-upper 50's? If so, Nottingham dry yeast pitched and maintained at 55-57*F through the first 3-5 days of fermentation (until it begins to slow down, then you can let it come up to finish around 65*F) is about as close as I've tasted to lager-like with an ale yeast. I did an Albier last fall this way and it was very clean tasting.

Have you tried Wyeast Kolsch 2565 yeast? You can get lager like beer at ale conditions.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Have you tried Wyeast Kolsch 2565 yeast? You can get lager like beer at ale conditions.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

I've tried a few home brews that others did using kolsh yeast. I wouldn't describe any of them as being lager-like. Not nearly as clean and crisp as a well-done lager. Supposedly, they were done in the low to mid-60's.

Even 50's isn't possible where I'm from in so cal. I'm running my ac this week to keep house to 72. Until I get a dedicated lager fridge, I'm fermenting at warm temps.