Krausening to remove diacetyl

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motobrewer

I'm no atheist scientist, but...
Reaction score
Well, I have 10 gallons of a 1.049 Helles that has just a touch too much diacety. I blame a weak fermentation due to an underpitch (WLP860). It's been lagering for 5 weeks and it's definitely gotten better over time. However it's still at the level where I feel it needs to be corrected.

So I decided to krausen the beer. I BIAB'd 1/2 gallon of beer using a scaled down version of the recipe and pitched some of the saved yeast from the main batch. After about 12 hours and visible krausen I pitched (as much as I could - they're in secondaries and were pretty full) at 63F.

Has anyone had experience with this? How long do I leave it at 63F? Should I lager it again?

I have krausened a few times... not sure it works like you think - seems to clean up sulfur more quickly and accelerate maturation for me, not sure it accelerates the clean up of diacetyl, but it might. Usually my lagers process D-Rest at 56F/58F for 3 days, then a very slow crash to 32F/29F, no more than 5 degrees a day - the slower drop seems to slowly put the yeast into rest without creating more esters. Maybe with a healthy krausen, you might shorten the D-rest by 1 day or so... depending on the amount created by your stressed primary.

Taste your beer twice a day with a very small sample - it seems to drop quickly over a short time - it can be hard to detect behind the sulfur. Mine get 2-3 weeks lagering, tasting at the end of week 2 for the drop of the sulfury yeasty flavors - I believe is called jungbuket. AJ has a ton more experience than I.