Japanese Mountain Brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BlackFalls

Reaction score
Hello everyone,
My name is Aaron and I'm a JET (Japanese Exchange Teaching) living in south-central Nara prefecture in (as I'm sure you can guess from the job title) Japan. I've been here for 3 years almost exactly now, but I only started brewing around October of last year. Right now I'm doing partial grain but I hope to get an all grain set-up put together this month, and brew my first all grain batch when I get back from summer vacation in August.

I first got interested in home brewing through my father I suppose, he got way into beer when I was in elementary school I believe, and started home brewing shortly thereafter. I have these memories of doing brewery tours on just about every road trip we took, and fond memories of helping my father brew his stuff. Actually I think he's responsible for my love of root beer as well as the regular stuff as when we used to hit pubs it was about the only time I was allowed soda and when the places made their own root beer I felt like I was sampling the local brew with my dad. He even made root beer with me and my brothers a couple of times. Even now every once and again when we're on skype I'll talk to him about what I'm brewing, although he has since stopped brewing himself and talk to him for basic advice and to help get equipment I have trouble finding out here in Japan.