I've never pitched on a cake, should I do it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rolly

Reaction score
I've got a surly furious (IPA) clone in primary right now with WLP007 dry english. I'm going to brew a 1.085 English Barleywine next week, and was wondering if I should just pitch it on top of the cake? Or should I just use half of it or so?

No, don't do it. Over pitching is just as bad as under pitching. Go to mrmalty.com there is a pitch rate calculator there. Click on the re-pitch from slurry tab. Clean and sanitize a measuring cup. Pitch the amount of slurry they recommend for 1.085 wort. It's really easy to do it right.

I am no pro by any means. I have been pitching on cakes for a couple years. It may not be the best practice. Maybe it is impacting my beers negatively? I do know I have never had a beer under attenuate using this practice. If you are entering it into a competition or really want to replicate a recipe. It might be best not to listen to guys like me!

No, don't do it. Over pitching is just as bad as under pitching. Go to mrmalty.com there is a pitch rate calculator there. Click on the re-pitch from slurry tab. Clean and sanitize a measuring cup. Pitch the amount of slurry they recommend for 1.085 wort. It's really easy to do it right.

Totally disagree. Under pitching is far worse then over pitching. there have been MULTIPLE studies and tests one of which was done by BYO.
Now over pitching does have its issues. But how many beers under pitched won BJCP competitions?

I used to pitch right on top of my yeast cakes and have had GREAT results. Now i wash my yeast. I'ts so easy, so why not do it the right way.

Go ahead, you're fine.