Is kegging worth it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Math0

Reaction score
Hey yall. I started brewing crap beer about 2 years ago and I now brew every week better beer everytime. I have all the basic equipment needed (mash tun, hot liquor tank, kettle, burner, heat sticks, fermenters, glass carboys, storage buckets, etc, etc). I love drinking beer in a bottle and I am starting to hate the deposit at the bottom of each beer. I was thinking of buying a 2 keg system with the blichmann beer gun to be able to still bottle my beer but without sediments. Also use the kegs in the winter (because I dont have the space for a fridge).

Truly, is it really worth the 500$ ? I looked around and this is the price I came up with. Shipping is horrible. It is not really about the price, but about the utility.

Please comment, complain.. anything :cross:

I like it, but I like draft beer.

You will still get SOME sediment. It will be less than bottle conditioning though. (Unless you are planning on filtering into the keg, force carbing, and then using the beergun).

Yeah it's an easy $500.

I'm kind of torn about this to be honest. It's not *completely* worth it. What I mean by that is that it's not a slam-dunk, you're crazy for not doing this kind of thing.

Pros:
- MUCH easier to package finished beer
- Cool factor
- No more sediment in beers

Cons:
- Cost
- Money
- Expense

I would skip the beer gun. If I have to bottle I will put the sanitized bottles in the freezer and fill them when they're frozen. It helps to reduce the carbonation.