Is a 1L starter 1L of fluid?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KramE

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
So, I've watched a couple videos, read some posts, and now I'm confused.

Some sources say (including one here on Homebrewtalk) that a 1L starter is only called that because it's in a 1L flask, and they use 2 cups of water.

Other sources state that it's actually 1L of fluid.

Which is it?

Thanks!

Mark

While I have never made a starter, I would assume that a "1 liter starter" is 1 liter of material. I usually see people say they make a 2-liter starter, and I see 2 liters of material in a 5-liter flask.

But what do I really know? I am just a noob at this still... *shrugs*

I always do x-volume of water plus DME.

1L starter = 1L water + (whatever amount of DME it takes to get to apx. 1.037)

Depends if you chill after culturing. Chilling will drop the suspended yeast to the bottom and you can decant or pour off the majority of the spent wort. If it's not chilled you will have a lot of active yeast still in suspension, in that case pitch the whole batch.

https://www.wyeastlab.com/hb_makingastarter.cfm

Like said above, you make what the volume of liquid says. Just scale up the linked recipe to get 2L or whatever.

When you pitch a starter, you can either pitch the whole thing, or if you have a lot of liquid, let it sit in the fridge for a bit. Most of the yeast will settle, leaving a white/tan layer, just pour off the liquid carefully leaving an inch or so left, then swirl it all into a slurry and pitch.

Cheers:mug:

1L starter is 1L of water plus dme to get to 1.037.

For what it's worth I use the brew united yeast starter calculator (formerly homebrewdad)