Iodophor question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ReaperOnefour

Reaction score
Hello all. I'll be using iodophor for the first time. In about two weeks I'll be brewing an American IPA. Like I said it's my first time using this sanitizer, so I really don't know much about it. Other that how much to add to a gallon & a half of water. I was wondering if anyone could give me some tips on how to use it correctly. Maybe some do's & don'ts. I've read that you can get sick if any of the iodine gets in the beer. So naturally that's a concern for me. Thanks for any help in advance.

Letting the sanitizer dry is counterproductive wrt to the whole "no rinse" paradigm.
Use the equipment while it's still wet...

Cheers!

The instructions on the bottle say to drain, & let the equipment air dry. By doing that would that make the iodophor ineffective? So just disregard that & use the equipment wet?

Listen to the podcast I referenced above. It is an interview with the CEO of the company that produces BTF Iodophor. He tells you precisely how to most effectively use the product in the podcast, and why.

Day_Trippr is telling you the truth.

Thanks fellas. I tried to listen to the podcast, but for some reason it's not working. I will do like you guys said though. I was using that one step for cleaning, & sanitizing. Until I found out that even though it does have some sanitizing properties, it's more of cleaner. ( Which works great when cleaning out my little big mouth bubblers.) Which is why I chose the idophor.

Iodophor is a pretty good sanitizer for homebrewers. Its essentially non-hazardous at the concentrations we use and leaving a minor film or pool of iodophor solution in contact with beer and wort has been proven to NOT affect beer flavor or quality.