INFECTION! Would you drink this?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NScooknet

Reaction score
Hello all, been a long time since I posted here, been very ill unfortunately.

I am a beer guy, and always wanted to make some wine, so I thought I'd just try out a small batch and see what happened.

Unfortunately, despite my cleanliness routine and thorough sanitizing with TSP followed by this nasty Star San stuff which I've never used before (I cant find iodaphore around here anywhere for some reason) I just checked my little batch only to be disappointed by a nasty infection that looks like mould.

Take a look at this and tell me if you would siphon this off and rack it into a new vessel, or just chuck it. I have not taken off the airlock yet.
Thanks!
:)
20march2019-1.jpg
20march2019-2.jpg

Thanks for the reply!

Oh, and BTW, what "is" that stuff at the top of the carboy in your opinion?

Is it just yeast, or something other than mould?

Last edited:
It's hard to tell from the photo...
It's either pulp, yeast, or pellicle.

I feel like you'd know whether there's pulp or fruit bits in your wine... but surprisingly not everyone does.

Brewer's yeast can form clumps at the surface. Some strains are prone to this. I'd be surprised if that's what you have, based on the photo, but it is a possibility.

My guess is that it's a pellicle.
A pellicle would indicate the presence of wild yeast and/or bacteria. It's believed they build this film in response to oxygen. It's not dangerous.
Normal it's a thin white powdery film on the surface. Did you move or otherwise disturb the carboy? That would explain why a pellicle could look like that. If it looks like crumpled up soggy tissue paper that's almost certainly what it is. Clumps of pellicle will usually eventually sink.