Imperial black with Nelson Sauvin

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrowland74

Reaction score
Hello all, I am pretty new to brewing and am wanting to formulate my own recipe. I recently got a variety of hops and am planning to incorporate some of them. I would like to make an Imperial Black Ale similar to Iniquity by Southern Tier, but with my own twist. One of the hops I got which intrigues me is Nelson Sauvin. I have no idea what this tastes like. I am hoping to find something soon which showcases this hop so I can taste it, but before I waste my time and money, I was hoping for some input from you whether you think this hop is suitable for an Imperial Black. I only have 1 oz so it would only be part of the addition. I also have US Northern Brewer (raw), Warrior, Centennial Type, CTZ, Centennial, Zythos, Summit, and Amarillo. Any suggestions what might go well with this? It will likely be 95% 2-row and 5% Carafa III or other dark malt. If there is a strong negative reaction I may just end up going with an IPA anyway. Any advice is appreciated.

Nelson Sauvin has a flavor reminiscent of a fruity white wine. I don't think it would do well in this beer.

Centennial may do well.

Stone used Nelson in their Anniversary black ipa and that was a very popular beer. There's a recipe for it if you want to check it out for reference.

Ok, so here is what I have so far. Any advice is really appreciated. Keep in mind, this is my first try at a recipe...

Imperial Black IPA (Imperial IPA)

Original Gravity (OG): 1.087 (°P): 20.9
Final Gravity (FG): 1.022 (°P): 5.6
Alcohol (ABV): 8.55 %
Colour (SRM): 43.6 (EBC): 85.9
Bitterness (IBU): 84.2 (Average)

92.54% American 2-Row
7.46% Carafa III malt

1 oz Warrior (16% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil)