I'm Paul in South East Asia

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

moruyapaul

Reaction score
I've been brewing for just over 40 years on and off and there's a lot of relearning here in the tropics that is slightly limited by the ingredients available and being aware of the ambient temperature which is around 30C

I'm working on a couple of projects - a bitter style that can be served cool, an Irish stout and some locally flavoured brews such as ginger and lemon grass

Well....

I tend to use Safale-05 as it doesn't seem to leave any odd tastes with the rather warm fermentation

I rack the beer pretty much as soon as activity has stopped (3-5 days) and add some gelatin to try to get a reasonably clear beer (3-5 days) quickly

Then keg it up and into a home-made keezer

So, the process is accelerated somewhat

The beer can condition slowly - subject to daily QA!

Irish type stouts work well and several lightish ales that taste ok chilled. Heavy hopping helps

The ginger beer is refreshing. Maybe needs to be a bit sharper. I can squeeze some lime in the glass. I'll add some acid blend next time

Well....

I tend to use Safale-05 as it doesn't seem to leave any odd tastes with the rather warm fermentation

I rack the beer pretty much as soon as activity has stopped (3-5 days) and add some gelatin to try to get a reasonably clear beer (3-5 days) quickly

Then keg it up and into a home-made keezer

So, the process is accelerated somewhat

The beer can condition slowly - subject to daily QA!

Irish type stouts work well and several lightish ales that taste ok chilled. Heavy hopping helps

The ginger beer is refreshing. Maybe needs to be a bit sharper. I can squeeze some lime in the glass. I'll add some acid blend next time
Good morning and welcome to the board!