If I brewed a stout with this profile...?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alers22

Reaction score
I am new to water chemistry so I am hoping someone can tell me what type of beer I can expect from using filtered, unaltered tap water. I am brewing a Founders Breakfast Stout clone. I have been tinkering with EZ Water but I am curious about the differences in tap vs. adjusted water.

Here is my water chemistry:

Ca 27
Mg 3.9
Na 18.6
Cl 14.3
Sulfate 54.1
Carbonate Alk 57

Thanks!

Should be fine for a lot of beers stout among them. You might want to supplement the calcium and chloride to the extent of perhaps a half tsp per 5 gal. You may also wish to consider diluting 2 or 3 to 1 with RO water and using the Primer's suggestions to get started.

Hmmm? AJ says yes, but I say no...and not just no, but heck no! In addition, the adjustments he goes on to recommend will make it much worse. He keeps quoting a Michael Lewis recipe for a stout that bears little resemblance to what many brewers use in creating their stouts and porters. If there is any crystal in the OP's recipe, the mash pH will be lower than desirable and the beer will be thin and tart. Since most drinkers enjoy their stouts and porters thick and round, I recommend a starkly different approach.

The alkalinity of the OP's water is quite modest and is a great place to start for many beers. But in the case of a more acidic grist like a stout, it probably doesn't have enough alkalinity to help maintain a proper mash pH.