Ibu

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nathan33

Reaction score
I am pretty new to brewing. I am attempting my first saison and I am attempting to make my own recipe. I'm not going traditional with the hop schedule as I have a couple ounces of sauvin hops I plan to hop burst with at 1/2 ounce at 15, 10, 0, &dryhop. My question is about my ibus. To get up in mid range for the style I plan on using a quarter ounce magnum at 20 minutes. Is this a good idea to stay true to the hop burst or should I add small amount at beginning of the boil? I chose magnum for the clean bittering but have simcoe cascsde amirillo or citra that I could use. I have no pilsner malt so my recipe is as follows.
9lbs 2 row
1 lb white wheat
1lb munich
1 lb carafoam
.25 lb special b
.33 magnum 20 minutes
.5 sauvin 15 min
.5 sauvin 10 min
1 oz bitter orange 5 min
.5 oz seeds of paridise. 5 min
.5 sauvin flameout
.5 sauvin dryhop
Wyeast french saison

Anyone have any suggestions to this before brewday wenesday.

I should mention that I lime hopbursting for the flavor without all the bite from bittering.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Home Brew mobile app

Well I had a problem with the brew wich wasn't related. When chilling my wort was full of coagulation. Not normal cold break. I have had this happen before in a beer. It then geta a hard to explain aroma and bad taste. Does anyone know what causes this? I hate to have another batch so this to me.

When chilling my wort was full of coagulation. Not normal cold break. I have had this happen before in a beer. It then geta a hard to explain aroma and bad taste. Does anyone know what causes this?