IBU accuracy in Brewer Friend

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blackdirt_cowboy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have used brewers friend to develop my recipes ever since I started brewing. I am starting to think that either the calculations for IBUs are off, or I am having a problem with hop utilization. My last brew, a German pils, should have an IBU of 36 according to brewers friend, but there is almost no hop bitterness. I was quite shocked when I first tasted it. It’s got a really nice clean, “bright” malt character, and I can pick up the pepperiness of the tettnanger hops, but it’s not bitter like I expected. I have had some commercial pils beer that was less than 36 IBUs that tastes more bitter than mine. Has anyone else had this issue? Here is my recipe, in case someone may notice if it’s an issue on my end.

5 gallon batch
9.5# german pils malt
2 oz melanoidon

Mashed at 140 for 20 minutes, 150 for 30 minutes, 155 for 10 minutes, and 168 for 10 minutes.

90 minute boil

1.2 oz hallertau hersbrucker @ 60 min
.6 oz hallertau hersbrucker @ 30 min
.75 tettnanger @ 15 min
.75 tettnanger @ 5 min

Fermented with wyeast 2124 bohemian lager yeast

Thanks for any help y’all can give me. This is my first “light” beer to brew as I normally do bocks, dopplebocks, stouts, and porters. Maybe that’s my problem, I’m used to beers with lots of flavors, and this one comes across as flavorless.

What was your water profile and did you add anything to balance it? Typically, water makes a world of difference in perceived hoppiness.

What was your water profile and did you add anything to balance it? Typically, water makes a world of difference in perceived hoppiness.