how the big boys do it?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmbhawker

Reaction score
so i am relatively new to home-brewing and have been going on a bunch of local brewery tours and what not trying to learn from the big boys. i was wondering how the larger breweries and brewpubs are able to put out such a good product in such a short time. do they skip the conditioning period that i go through as a home-brewer?

Most force carbonate their beer, which instantly knocks 2-3 weeks off the normal homebrewer's schedule. I know Cooperstown Brewery literally bottles on day 4, and their beer is LOADED with diacetyl.

so i am relatively new to home-brewing and have been going on a bunch of local brewery tours and what not trying to learn from the big boys. i was wondering how the larger breweries and brewpubs are able to put out such a good product in such a short time. do they skip the conditioning period that i go through as a home-brewer?

Besides keeping the beer on a tighter schedule. Moving right after fermentation has ceased and carbing quickly. They can use the time that the beer sits at the distributor, liquor store or bar as conditioning time.

I use 1968 in most of my ales for a lot of reasons, but two of its best traits are quick fermenting and super flocculation. For an average strength beer (say 1.060 or less), I can frequently go from grain to glass in 6-10 days. Other than using gelatin, crash cooling, and using the quick carb method, the yeast is really responsible for the speed.