How seriously do you take homebrewing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beersk

Reaction score
I think I take homebrewing a little too seriously sometimes. To the point where I'll obsess about something to exhaustion. I don't like that I do this. I've been brewing for a little over 5 years now and I remember a time when I'd brew, enjoy the hell out of it, and love drinking the beer. Then I got further into it with water chemistry and kegging and all of a sudden, I question every single beer I brew. I'm always wondering if it's tasting how it's supposed to taste and if it doesn't, what went wrong and why.
I went through a traumatizing couple of years where I had nasty co2 lines contaminating my beer and now I'm always wondering about co2 contaminating my beer. I've had beers taste good at kegging then change over the course of the first week it carbonates. I know co2 adds a carbonic bite, but it shouldn't change that much. Anyway, the bottom line is, I think WAY too hard about this stuff and it gets me really down. I'm almost to the point of brewing not being fun anymore.

Just wondering if anyone else obsesses like this and how can I just relax, not worry, and have a homebrew?

Cheers & beers!

Jesse

Well I am in the honeymoon phase of brewing so every brew day is fun. I have been enjoying creating my own pipeline and the camaraderie I have with my friend on brew day. Maybe just brew something simple and quaffable and stop worrying about all the style stuff for a time or two?

A couple ideas:

1) be more social about your brewing, find other homebrewers, hang with them, join a club, or just start giving away lots of beer - focus on the sociability of beer rather than the technical