How much time does the fermentation take? (with details)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rezaking886

In the name of god ;)
Reaction score
Hello to all of my colleagues!
Well, to be honest, I'm a beginner and THIS is my first time. Well, I tried to make a "Homemade Sugar Moonshine", which is a mix of pure water and ethanol. (40-50 percent ABV).
I just want to understand how much does it take for it to ferment well. (you can tell me how to calculate ;))
Let me tell you the amounts I used (Metric):
1. 2.5 Litres of water
2. Half a kilo of sugar
3.about 25-30 mL baking yeast (active and dry)

Ok, these were the Ingredients, Now I'll tell you what I did step by step:
-I tried this using only normal and standard kitchen items. (No airlock, etc.)
-I used a normal pot which has a little hole on it's lid.
1. I boiled the water (70-80 degrees celsius)
2. I added the sugar and made a water-sugar solution
3. I let it off the heat and let it cooldown to room temperature
4. I added the yeast and stirred it well enough to combine.
5. I did put it in dark and warm place.
6. I stir it every hour to make sure all of the CO2s get out. (I remove the lid)
7. It's been about 12 hours since I did add the yeast and combine it.
8. It doesn't have a steady temperature and cools down so I did heat it again to room temp. (6 hrs after start)

Please tell me the time needed for fermentation (according to the ingredients and what I did)
Is everything okay? Did I make any mistakes? (Should I dump the batch or not?)
Should I stir it or shake it? Is that even necessary?
I will be very thankful, Cheers!

Last edited:
Hello to all of my colleagues!