How Much Does Size Matter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

What Size Are Your Current Batches

• Less than 5 Gallons

• 5 Gallons

• 10 Gallons

• 15 Gallons

• 1 Barrel

• More than 1 Barrel

• It Varies A Lot (please describe below)

Results are only viewable after voting.

MultumInParvo

Reaction score
I am currently a 5 gallon a batch brewer, and was curious about how big your batches were. Please select one of the answers above. Or the closest fit to what you do.

Also, why do you do the batch size that you are currently with? Cost, space, the right amount?

Would you like to go bigger? Smaller?

I do 5 gallon batches because its cheaper, I have little space, and also I am new to homebrewing so I want to try as many recipes/procedures as I can.

I brew 5 gallon batches of beer, and have since the beginning. The only way I would brew a smaller batch was on a strictly experimental basis, and where I thought there might be a good chance I wouldn't want to finish 5 gallons. I have brewed two smaller batches (one of one gallon, one of 2.5 gallons), the former of apfelwein, the second of cider.

I have no intention of going to 10 gallon or larger batches. First, I tend to like a variety of beers, and 10 gallons takes too long to drink and occupies too many bottles. Second, 10 gallon batches weigh so much that the containers cannot be manually lifted, necessitating movement to a system with lines and pumps....complexity that I wish to avoid.