How much can a bottle handle?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jalynch4

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am relatively new to brewing higher gravity beers and I have never considered how much pressure regular 12 oz bottles can handle. I have a cider in the secondary that had an OG of 1.048 and finished at about .99 and looks like it will be about 8-9% ABV. This would be the highest gravity beverage I've ever produced and I don't want bottle bombs.

Does anyone have an opinion on the point where it's smarter to use champagne bottles or something larger/stronger? Does anyone have a good resource to measure this?

Thank you-any help is much appreciated!

Hi all,

I am relatively new to brewing higher gravity beers and I have never considered how much pressure regular 12 oz bottles can handle. I have a cider in the secondary that had an OG of 1.048 and finished at about .99 and looks like it will be about 8-9% ABV. This would be the highest gravity beverage I've ever produced and I don't want bottle bombs.

Does anyone have an opinion on the point where it's smarter to use champagne bottles or something larger/stronger? Does anyone have a good resource to measure this?

Thank you-any help is much appreciated!

If it's finished, and not fermenting any longer, you won't have bottle bombs.

^this

And abv% has absolutely no bearing on whether a bottle can handle the pressure of a beer or not.

If fermentation is complete, there will be no bottle pressure unless you add additional (priming) sugar. The pressure or co2 produced will be directly related to the amount of priming sugar you use.