How long should I bottle condition

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coliveri78

Reaction score
I'm very new to brewing but I was wondering what is a good "rule of thumb" when it comes to how long to wait on bottle conditioning?

For most beers 2 to 3 weeks should be about when you would start checking bottles for carbonation levels and taste. If it is a higher gravity beer it can take a month or more. Some beers even need several months (6-9) to fully mature.

Carbing and conditioning are different things.

Beers under 6% should be carbed in 2 or 3 weeks and really require no conditioning time. They should be in their drinkable prime in only 2 to 4 weeks after bottling. My preference is 4.

Beers greater than 8% should be carbed in 4 to 8 weeks. Conditioning depends on what you are doing. If it's an IIPA or a big wheat, drink it when it's carbed. If it's a big Barleywine, Abby, or imperial stout, it may need a few more months.

Carbing and conditioning are different things.

Beers under 6% should be carbed in 2 or 3 weeks and really require no conditioning time. They should be in their drinkable prime in only 2 to 4 weeks after bottling. My preference is 4.

Beers greater than 8% should be carbed in 4 to 8 weeks. Conditioning depends on what you are doing. If it's an IIPA or a big wheat, drink it when it's carbed. If it's a big Barleywine, Abby, or imperial stout, it may need a few more months.