How long did you brew extract kits?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

markley

Reaction score
Hey all...I am very new to brewing. So far have only brewed three extract kits. It's safe to say that I am hooked, so I don't think it's too early (well maybe a little, as i know there's a lot to learn) to consider heading towards all grain recipes. I am curious as to how long y'all brewed from kits before stepping up? Also, what are the logical next steps?

Right now I only have a beginner brew kit, 2 - 6 gal plastic fermenters, bottling bucket, a 5 gallon stainless kettle, and a 8 gal aluminum pot.

I brewed with extracts for 13 years. been all grain for a little over a year. I wish I hadn't waited so damn long! start looking up DIY mash tuns/cooler conversions. I got the 10 gallon cooler set up from Northern Brewer. I like it. it holds temp quite well. you'll also want a decent mill. I got the Barley crusher from NB as well. don't let all the AG hubba-baloo get you scared or nervous. AG is easier than I thought. and I also think it might be better to lear AG while your brain ain't all filled up with extract.

I did 3-4 Mr. Beer kits, one Bass Ale clone extract brew from a recipe that I cobble together from various internet sources and what my LHBS had in stock, and then went immediately into AG BIAB.

Haven't done an extract batch since. Been at it about 3 years now.

I have a few buckets that I got for free from a local soap making store for my fermenters bottling bucket, etc, a $19 10G Aluminum tamale pot as my BK, a 4 gal kettle I had before I started brewing, and I started with a $4 voile curtain as my "bag".

I typically do 12ish lb grain bills in my 10G kettle. I mash with around 6-7 gal, then dunk sparge with 1.5 gals in a 4 gal kettle.