How do they do it!?!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Question- How do craft breweries get that unique, distinct flavor that their beers are known for. I guess I want to know if I'm on a wild goose chase trying to replicate a beer like Lagunitas IPA. I've been brewing for about 2 years now and have recently gone all grain with hop bursting. I'm starting to get some more distinct tasting beer that don't just taste like "beer". Still not able to replicate the variety of hop flavors that I find in store bought brews>

There are so many variables, if you gave a rundown of your process it would most likely expedited getting to the root of your issue(s).

If you want a good IPA bursting with hop aroma you have to use about 2X as many hops as you would think and 3-4 ounces dry hop for 5 gallons!

Lagunitas is unique in that they use a lot of crystal malts and mash very high at about 160F. They also hop the poo out of their beers and use a good bit of gypsum I believe.

Good water profile is important to an IPA, like most styles, actually. Fresh ingredients, low mash temps, lots of hops and drink FRESH!

And watch the ferm temps...

Went to a beer fest here in the islands a few months ago and to tell the truth I think my ales are better than most of the craft ales they had there. Many are "thin" tasting. Don't ask me which I tasted it was to long ago. If I have to buy something I usually get something from SN.

I have noticed that my IPAs loose that intense aroma and flavor over time. I always thought it was just in my head or that I was getting use to the flavor. What styles keep their flavor better? I have three taps, and thinking that maybe I should only keep an IPA on one tap so it stays fresher.