How do I know if my beer is really any good?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blackdirt_cowboy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I’m relatively new to homebrewing. I’ve only been brewing for about 8 months. I do all grain and have brewed 13 five gallon batches so far and 1 one gallon batch. I try to be objective when I taste my beers. There’s only been one that’s not worth a damn. A couple have just been ok, and the rest, to me, have been outstanding. I’ve only shared my beer with a few family members and close friends. Some have raved and helped me float several kegs. Others have told me that the beer was great, but never asked for another. So how do you know if your beer is truly good? Is homebrew an acquired taste? Or are some people just used to the flavorless macro brews and homebrew will just always be offensive them? I guess all that really matters is that I enjoy it, but it’s nice to be able to share it with people and know that they enjoy it, too.

You can always send it off to some local competitions for feedback. Sometimes the smaller ones are great on the feedback because they seem to take a lot of time filling out the forms, explaining why they scored it the way they did. Sometimes you get a "I really liked this beer but, you missed the style" which is fine because they still give you good sensory details. You can also try to find any faults they may have picked out that you didn't notice before.

People often have their personal favorite styles of brew, so I don't take it personally if someone isn't fond of some of my brews, but when they ask for another, you know they really did like it.