How Did You Get Started?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

donaldlohsl

Reaction score
I'm very new to homebrewing and would like to receive an array of advice from veterans of the community about anything that I should know. When I say "very new" I actually mean that I don't even have the equipment. I am willing to invest in a decent beginners system with a couple of long-time pals. Any and all help will be greatly appreciated.

Information gathered on this site and Youtube for DIY videos. I also read a lot of Palmer's book before I started.

I started with two pre-made extract kits. They are very simple and don't require much equipment.

Buy in a fation that will allow you to grow into it, dont buy small.
Boil pot at least 7 gals for 5 gal brews. Assuming 5 gals brews is where you want to be.

Take your time with your recipes, my first batch was undercarbed because the recipe I got from the homebrew shop said to use too little priming sugar. So double check everything before you brew.
Read palmer's book as mentioned above.
BYO is a great resource.
Start collecting bottles now.
A keggle is an affordable route for a brew kettle.
Don't be intimidated by all grain, it's easier than it seems, (assuming you want to get that into it)
If you have a question, type it into Google and hit enter, odds are it will be answered.
Fermentation temps can be around 5 degrees hotter than the air temp.

Don't use brew shops as your only supply source. I get better deals on heavy duty commercial kitchen stuff from a local restaurant supply store. All my big pots and spoons have come from there and comparing to the stuff I've seen my Buddy's show up with from name brand brew suppliers I'll keep it that way.