How cool before I can move to ferm bucket?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mufflerbearing

Reaction score
I have a keggle and it is my first time using it and want to know at what temp can I move to my primary (bucket)then top up. I have noticed the bottom of the pot holds a good amount of heat and just want to get it out ASAP so I can add cold water get it to 70 and pitch. Thanks, MB

Most folks try to cool to pitching temps before transfering to the fermenter, but I suppose you could move your wort over and then let it cool. I guess I dont know what the max temp is for a plastic bucket.

I say top it up in the keggle to bring the temp down, then transfer at pitching temps.

Buckets say 140. I wouldn't. Buckets take longer to cool. If you can get the bottom in cold water it won't hold heat underneath.