Hop suggestions for a Trappist Single (Westmalle Strain)?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stand

Reaction score
I've been making a Trappist Single for a few years, and it's my year-round beer. I always like it, but I don't feel like I've ever hit on a hop that is quite right. It's the one factor I'm still playing with. I'm curious if anyone has found a hop that works well with this strain?

I've tried:
Santiam
Spalter Select
Hallertau Mittelfruh
Saaz
Crystal
Saphir

Of those Santiam and Crystal have been my favorites.

Thanks!

Last edited:
Styrian Golding? Definitely traditional for Belgians.

I have used those in my Dubbels, but I was afraid it would be too earthy for such an all-pilsner beer. Have you tried it in an all-pilsner beer? I'm going to have to try it now because you're right that's very traditional.

I can't recall if I've used them in an all-pils beer, but I wouldn't hesitate to do so! Would either use the as a finishing hop in conjunction with some other noble for bittering, or just by themselves.

Here's a recomendation from a Craft Beer and Brewing article:

https://beerandbrewing.com/make-your-best-trappist-single/