Hop bags? Do you use them?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

linusstick

Reaction score
I've never used hop bags before. I always just tossed the pellets into the boil because I felt that putting them in a bag wouldn't get all the flavor/aroma out of them. My first batch in 4 years was just bottled (a dry hopped APA) and I'm wondering if there is a benefit of using hop bags. I had a lot of hops floating in the beer (which I don't mind but others might) and was wondering if using hop bags would still give a good flavor and aroma but eliminate the debris?

I use bags on whole leaf, as well as pellets when I dry hop (I also use a metal spice ball with a muslin bag around it for dry hopping), just to help eliminate debris in my secondary when I use one (rarely). I just make sure its all really loose not wrapped tight.if you have it compacted into a ball you may lose effectiveness, but loosely in a bag your not going to see a significant difference.

I never bag hops, I simply try to leave them behind in the fermenter, if not they always settle out in the keg after a few pours. With enough time everthing settles for a nice clean brew.

I don't use bags either but not for any reason other than I don't feel like buying them. They do make cleanup a breeze. Just tie the bag off loosely so the hops aren't all compacted together.

I just started using hop bags. I believe i get a little more finished beer w/o the hops going into my fermenter.

I'm finding that the hop bags keep most all (at least 95%) of the grainy debris in the bag. It's clearing up very nicely after the first week in bottles. The bags are really cheap (I think they were 75c each),& quick-n-easy to clean.