Hooking up regulator to CO2 Tank?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fenners

Reaction score
Warning - kegging + CO2 noob here :)

I got a 5lb CO2 tank from a friend & did a tank swap at the local Airgas. I'm trying to hook up my regulator to it so I can set up my new AHS-sourced kegging setup for the first time.

How 'tightly screwed' should the regulator be onto the CO2 tank? Hand-screwed or should I be tightening it up as much as I can with a wrench?

When you connect your regulator to your Co2 tank make sure you have a regulator gasket. Also, you and going to want to tighten your regulator with a wrench so that it is snug. Do not over tighten, you may possibly damage your equipment if it is brass.

I usually just put German torque on mine, good-n-tight! :D I bought a kit from a reputable online store, it contained a 5lb bottle and dual regulator and lines. Refilled the bottle 3 times with no problems. Then the place I had my bottle refilled at closed down so I went to a welding supply shop where they trade out bottles. After that I could never get a good seal, wasted a few gaskets trying. Finally took the whole setup into the welding shop and they examined the coupling that goes from regulator to bottle -Said it had an extra piece in it that was not standard. They removed the peice and I never had problems again. Apparently the particular set-up I bought online had the bottle matched to the coupler. Puzzled the people at the CO2 store.

Some have a gasket in the reg, some have a o-ring, some have a gasket that comes out. Is yours this one: http://www.austinhomebrew.com/product_info.php?products_id=12960 ? If so that says it has a "Built-in regulator washer", so you're probably fine.

Yep, that's the one.