Home brew - head

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

keith6292

Reaction score
I put my beer in a keg. The psi is set to 10 and when I pour a pint I get about half a glass of head. I am a complete newbie and appreciate any suggestions you may have.

Thanks

How long are your beer lines? And what diameter? Shorter lines can sometimes lead to foaming.

Are you using a tower for your taps? If so, those lines will probably be warm in those towers which can lead to foaming.

What temperature is your beer? Preferred carbonation is a function of not only psi, but also temperature (among other things).

I say my lines are about 4' long. The tap is attached to the door of the fridge. Temp around 3 degrees celsius.

If you pour a few glasses in a row do you still get excess foam? If so, you probably have over carbonated. If not, it is probably a temperature difference between your beer and the lines/tap. Everyone goes through this when they first start out, learning their systems and how to make them work the way you want them to. Your lines sound long enough. See this article: http://beersmith.com/blog/2011/07/14/keg-line-length-balancing-the-science-of-draft-beer/

Good news. I poured a second pint and it was absolutely perfect. Then I poured another, then another, and then I went to bed.

Thanks all

Kegerators can be fickle. You have probably heard people talking about 'balancing' their kegerators and that is probably what you need to do. Firstly, a couple questions.

- Is this a homebrew or commercial keg?
- How are you carbonating the beer if homebrew? And to how many volumes of carbonation?
- When you pour your first beer today, is it foamy again?

You say that you have the keg at 10 psi at 3 C or about 37.4 F, and dispensing through 4' lines.