Hmmmm not what i expected

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lazarus0530

Reaction score
Just tapped a keg of an imperial ipa I brewed.
I was expecting like a hoppier tasting brew. But this is more of a citrus start then a lighter dry finish. I followed it precisely ..don't get me wrong it's a wonderful brew. Tell me what you all think.
I'm a noob so I'm not real up to speed on the hops I used
This extra strong India Pale Ale (IPA) is chock full of American hoppy goodness! Its formidable malt backbone provides some semblance of balance, but the emphasis is on the wonderfully integrated flavors and aromas from the late hop additions.

Statistics
Original Gravity 1.078
Final Gravity 1.020
Alcohol Content 7.2%

Ingredients
8 lb. Alexander’s Pale Malt Extract
2 lb. Munton & Fison Light Dried Malt Extract
½ lb. Munton & Fison Carapils Malt 20° L
½ lb. Briess Crystal Malt 40° L
½ lb. Dingemans Caramunich Malt 48° L
1 oz. Columbus Hop Pellets (Bittering)
1 oz. Simcoe Hop Pellets (Flavoring)
½ oz. Amarillo Hop Pellets (Flavoring)
1 oz. Amarillo Hop Pellets (Finishing)
½ oz. Simcoe Hop Pellets (Finishing)
½ oz. Simcoe Hop Pellets (Dry Hop)
½ oz. Amarillo Hop Pellets (Dry Hop)
Wyeast # 1272 XL American Ale II

JLem said:
+1 - my first impression of your recipe was that there didn't seem to be enough hops for a five gallon batch of imperial IPA

Ok...like I said its a great beer. Just wasn't expecting a citrus taste

Ok...like I said its a great beer. Just wasn't expecting a citrus taste

Amarillo is super, wonderfully citrusy. Simcoe is more dank/piney, but also has citrusy notes. With the hops you used, I would expect the typical American IPA citrusy flavors and aromas