High FG readings

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Qbrewer

Reaction score
I know there are a bunch of variables at play here and I'm hoping for some feedback for things to consider in some particular order. I'm still a relative novice. I brew extract and partial mash and have been having a hell of a time hitting final gravitates below 1.020. My batches frequently finish around 1.022 but sometimes as high as 1.026. I'm using Nassau county NY tap water doing partial boils and this has lately affected ales and lagers using liquid yeast with starters. No fermentation controls to speak of but my ales ferment in a room that's a consistent 66 degrees F and my lagers ferment in my unfinished basement at 55-56 degrees. What should I be looking at to get my yeast happier for longer? I like my beers a lot but I feel like I'm missing something since my FG always seems to finish so high. Especially when my SG readings are pretty close to what the recipe suggests.

TIA to all.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

The main reasons for a beer finishing high is under pitching the yeast and high amounts of unfermentable sugars in the beer.

Below is a yeast calculator I like to use. The size of the starter is based on the estimated OG of the beer and the production date of the yeast.

You are using municipal water. Do you treat the water to remove chlorine and chloramines? Chloramine in the water can also affect the health of the yeast in a starter.

The yeast chosen for a beer can also affect FG. Below is an article from White Labs on attenuation and flocculation.

http://www.brewersfriend.com/yeast-pitch-rate-and-starter-calculator/

http://www.whitelabs.com/beer/homebrew/beginners-attenuation-and-flocculation-definitions