Help selecting equipment

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David w moore

Reaction score
Hello all. Looking for some advice. I have very little brewing experience. Ok, the only expirience I have is an ex whose family used to brew wine in 2 litter bottles with balloons on top.

I saw an ad for the catalyst conical fermenter home brew kit. I tried to do some research and quickly found choice of equipment is controversial. I also found myself lost as i left the absolute basic stuff and started seeing posts from people who have dedicated refrigerators and could open their own breweries.

I would greatly appreciate some advice on a good starter set. I would like to brew a stout and maybe some cider. My wife would love to make some meed.

Thank you greatly for your help.

Assuming you have nothing at all, I would look at some starter kits on Morebeer.com (my preferred online vendor), Northern Brewer, etc. and see what their starter kits consist of...then I'd go straight to craigslist and facebook market place and see what people are selling, you can probably find everything you need used for dirt cheap to get started.

This kit from Morebeer is probably the most complete, and one of the best values, available for folks who are starting from scratch. There is everything needed to start brewing and nothing that can’t be used in the future if the beginner wants to advance beyond the basics.

The suggestion to see what’s available locally on Craigslist, or similar, is a good one. Although, given the current situation, prices for used brewing equipment might actually go up. Being able to acquire beer without having to leave the house is starting to look more attractive to some folks, if some recent posts on this board are any indication.